Home » Poetry » My plate

My plate

Here’s a poem I wrote in 1993. I was reminded of it by Helen who, like me, is exceedingly busy. Since my mother reads my blog (Hi Mom!), I will explain that the child is an amalgam of me and a boy called Tom whose dad will probably also read this ….

My plate  

Scene of many a tortuous battle.
Odds against me from the start.
The adversary –
A battery of broad beans.

Negotiations abandoned.
Under attack from the air.

Enemy circling to reload.
Bring on the bread sauce.
Smother the opposition.

*****************

Nothing’s really changed.
Still got a lot on my plate.
Still trying to hide my broad beans
Under the bread sauce.

Heather Wastie

from The Page-Turner’s Dilemma, available from Lapal Publications

(It’s much cheaper to buy direct from me – bring your copy to one of my gigs and I’ll refund the difference.)

Leave a Reply

