Home » Poetry » A poem about the gherkin

A poem about the gherkin

Elena Thomas has asked me to post my gherkin poem which I wrote after sitting in a Worcester pub with poets Sarah James and Angela Topping. Since all three of them are featuring at my next Mouth and Music event (on Tuesday 8th September) how could I refuse?

A poem about the gherkin
for Sarah James & Angela Topping

You are smerkin
at a gherkin
that is lerkin
on her platter

How I ferkin
hate the gherkin,
stomach-jerkin
little rotter

I am werkin
to ban the gherkin,
stop ’em lerkin
on our platters!

Take that, gherkin!
I’ll go berserk in
never sherkin
what really matters!

© Heather Wastie

Elena says I used up all the rhymes. Since writing it, I have been given a couple of suggestions for rhymes I missed. All I can say is, I’m glad I hadn’t thought of them.

Have a nice day
and please keep the gherkins at bay.

One thought on “A poem about the gherkin

Leave a Reply

