Home » Performances » International Mother Language Day

International Mother Language Day

This coming Saturday, February 21st, is International Mother Language Day. Never heard of it? I hadn’t either until I was contacted by the Birmingham Poet Laureate Adrian Blackledge who invited me to perform at a poetry event at the Library of Birmingham. In a programme including Arabic, Bengali, Dutch, English, Farsi, Kurdish, Patois, Somali, Spanish, Urdu and Yoruba, he wanted someone to perform “poems in a more ‘local’ West Midlands/Black Country voice”.

One of the poems I’ll be performing is Childhood Snaps, made up of ‘snapshots’ in words of things and events I remember from my childhood in Cradley Heath. I posted it on my blog recently https://weavingyarns1.wordpress.com/2015/01/17/childhood-snaps/

My set is from 12.45 to 1.00. Here are the details:

Saturday February 21st 11.00am – 3.00pm
International Mother Language Day
Room 101, Library of Birmingham, Centenary Square, B1 2ND

Tickets from £3.50

http://www.libraryofbirmingham.com/event/Events/internationalmotherlanguageday-2015

I’m looking forward to an interesting day!

One thought on “International Mother Language Day

  1. Pingback: Writing in Black Country dialect | Weaving Yarns

Leave a Reply

